An Abundance of Katherines By: John Green (Book Review)

AN-ABUNDANCE-OF-KATHERINES-by-John-Green

When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.

On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun–but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself.  


An Abundance of Katherines was absolutely wonderful! I was a little hesitant upon reading this novel because a lot of people say it is their least favorite John Green book. Therefore, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I adored it!  I didn’t love it as much as I loved Looking for Alaska, but I think I enjoyed it more than The Fault in Our Stars.

An Abundance of Katherines is quirky, but not in a over-done, annoying way.  It was not quirky for the sake of being quirky, but rather, in a unique and fascinating sort of way.  For example, there are footnotes on almost every page of the novel, and random facts and details that one would expect coming from Colin Singleton, a child prodigy.  Furthermore, each of the characters have their own unique features.  For example, Collin is obsessed with anagramming (which I didn’t even know was a thing until this novel), and his best friend, Hassan is a judge-judy loving Muslim.  I am a sucker unique small details, and this book is full of them!

John Green deserves an award (although the dude probably has tons of awards taped to his refrigerator) for making Colin Singleton a likeable character.  Although Colin is unique, he definitely is a self-centered, egocentric twit sometimes.  There were a few moments where I wanted to throw the book across the room because of how but-face-esque Colin was acting, but ultimately, I grew to love his character.  By the end of the novel, Colin has learned from his defects, and finally recognizes that his life doesn’t have to revolve moping about getting dumped by girlfriends named Katherine.

Although I grew to like Colin, Hassan by far was my favorite character in the novel.  Any scenes with Hassan never failed to make me laugh.   He is the hilarious yet supporting best friend everyone wants.  His jokes made me crack up in uncontrollable spurts of laughter.  Once, when reading on the beach I started laughing so hard that a person near me stared at me like I was some kind of crazy psychopath.   But what can I say, Hassan simply makes everything better.

The only aspect of this novel that was a bit off-setting for me was the ending.  It seemed rather abrupt and a bit forced for me, but all in all this was not a large enough defect to alter my love for the book.

John Green has yet to disappoint me, an Abundance of Katherines is LOVELY.  It is quirky, fun, and thought provoking!  If you have yet to pick up this novel, you REALLY SHOULD go out to Barnes and Noble right now to pick one up!

147c1-5stars

Leave a Reply

