Book Review: Six Months Later by Natalie D. Richards

Blurb:

She has everything she’s ever wanted. But not her memory…

When Chloe fell asleep in study hall, it was the middle of May. When she wakes up, snow is on the ground and she can’t remember the last six months of her life.

Before, she’d been a mediocre student. Now, she’s on track for valedictorian and being recruited by Ivy League schools. Before, she never had a chance with super jock Blake. Now he’s her boyfriend. Before, she and Maggie were inseparable. Now her best friend won’t speak to her.

What happened to her? Remembering the truth could be more dangerous than she knows…


Although I really enjoyed Six Months Later, I am not a part of the majority of people who gave it five stars.  I can understand why some people do absolutely adore this book.  The premise is extremely intriguing, and the mystery promises to keep readers engrossed the entire time.  Furthermore, Chloe’s narrative is as disorientated, frustrated, and annoyed as a person who might be going crazy would be.  At times this book reminded me of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer because similarly to Mara, Chloe’s narrative reads as though she is an unreliable narrator, which left me questioning if she was losing her sanity.  Chloe is a very easy character to like, she has a fierce determination to get to the bottom of things, and is very resourceful at gluing the pieces of her life back together.  And the more pieces she finds, the harder it is to put this book down!  Six Months Later is certainly an addicting book which will keep you thrilled the entire way!

However, when we finally discover what had happened over the six months, I was extremely disappointed.  It was just a little too inconceivable for me.  I was hoping that her loss of memory resulted from a psychological issue because that would have made the book more poignant, but it was not.  While reading the book, I was preparing for a fresh new end of a psychological thriller, but its ending made the plot feel familiar, and also there were still a lot unanswered questions.  The book wrapped up so quickly that it felt as though information was thrown at me without giving me the proper time to digest it.

Also, I have incredibly mixed feelings about the romance.  At first, I really enjoyed observing Adam and Chloe’s friendship and then relationship occur.  Adam I even came to really love.  It was also refreshing that the romance was kept second, and the mystery was the main driving point in this story.  However, I didn’t like how the relationship turned out.  Even though I started off loving Adam I grew to despise him despite any regret he had regarding his actions.  I simply couldn’t find it in me to completely forgive the information he kept from Chloe.  I recognize that his situation may not have been completely under his control, but it still tarnished my love of him.

Overall Six Months Later is a fast-paced, entertaining read, that is sure to keep you thrilled.  What really hindered my enjoyment of this book was that I expected a psychological thriller, and an outlandish plot took its place.  I do recommend reading Six Months Later because it is super entertaining, but if you are expecting a book focused more on the psychology of the character you will not find that in this novel.

3 and a half

Leave a Reply

